Darwin Dili 1973

The Inaugural Darwin Dili Yacht Race left Darwin at 1100 hours on 18 August 1973 for the 425 nm voyage to Timor across the Timor Sea.  6 competitors took 4-5 days to reach Dili, but they arrived well in time for the Presentation Night on 25 August, where the Governor of Portuguese Timor, Colonel Alrea Aldeia presented magnificent trophies to all competitors.  

Read more ...

Darwin Dili 1973 Yachts & NOR

Darwin - Dili Yacht Race 1973 Six yachts completed the inaugural Darwin Dili Yacht Race. These were (in alphabetical order) Amatuana, Bindi Borega, Nicolette, Rebel King, Scamp and Trident.

Read more ...

Darwin Dili 1974

A total of 24 yachts particpated in the 1974 Darwin Dili Yacht Race.  The record holder for line honours in the Darwin Dili race was set by the yacht Kingo in 1974 with a total time of 91:37 hours.


Read more ...

Darwin Dili 2002

It was with pleasure that in 2002, that CYANT members assisted with the organising of a yacht race to Dili to coincide with the celebrations of Timor Leste’s independence and creation as the world’s youngest nation.  8 yachts from Darwin made the voyage.
CYANT pays tribute to the many people, supporters and competitors who initiated the first Darwin Dili Yacht Race.  Their legacy lives on today in the many international yachting events that depart Darwin’s shores each year.