Many magnificent trophies were donated to the race over the years by individuals and organisations in Darwin and Ambon.

The Bruce Perkins Memorial Trophy
The founder of Perkins Shipping, Mr. Bruce Perkins who died in 1992, had a life long love of the sea and was a sailing member of yacht clubs in Singapore, Malaysia and an early member of the Darwin Sailing Club. He was the Club’s Patron until he died. Bruce’s widow, Jocelyn, also has a long association with the club as her father, Tom Strickland, was the first Commodore and held life membership No.1.
The "Bruce Perkins Memorial Trophy" for line honours, donated by Jocelyn, is a ninety year old pelorus which was in Bruce’s possession. The Workshop at Perkins cleaned and mounted it into a magnificent trophy. The workshop also polishes and engraves the empty shell fired from the start gun on the Naval patrol boat in Darwin Harbour. The shell was then presented in Ambon to the yacht "first over the line" at the start.
The Darwin Ambon Handicap Trophy
The Darwin to Ambon Handicap Trophy was created thanks to joint funding by the Northern Territory Government and the Government of the Province of Maluku. This trophy was presented to the handicap winner of the racing monohull division who was viewed by many as the most important "winner" in the Ambon race. The trophy was always presented with great style and ceremony by the people of Ambon.

ABN 97 123 652 312

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.